Common Deer

A little while back, I was lucky enough to attend the Gladstone Hotel’s ’12 Beers of Summer’ event. In the midst of all the craft beer drinking, we were drawn by the sound of the cello to the stage. The beer wasn’t half as intoxicating as the fantastic music being played. Once the band went on break, I walked up and asked them their name.

Established by two bothers and their friends in 2014, Common Deer uses classical instruments and modern riffs to create magical, heavenly music.

The band’s sound – in the song posted below reminds me of the XX – circa their first album.

For your audio pleasure:

I happened to be on King Street East last night. Just as I parked my car by the Church near King and Parliament, I heard that intoxicating sound again. I was hypnotized and drawn to the stage once more. Common Deer was performing at the park as part of the free ‘Summer Concert Series’ performers. I stayed and watched them practice before their performance at 7 p.m. Wish I could have watched the whole thing but I had to be somewhere. I have, ever since though, been playing the Feather and Bones song non-stop.

I really hope you enjoy it half as much as I do.

what are your thoughts on this?

